Slow roast goat leg

Cooking for Cullen

I’m hosting our National Member of Parliament for dinner tonight, Nathan Cullen. Consequently, I had to find something to cook! Having recently butchered one of my goats (and checked with his reps that he doesn’t have any food allergies or dislikes, I decided to try finding an interesting recipe for goat leg. This recipe is inspired by Chocolate and Zucchini which calls for a lamb shoulder and I’ve made some adjustments to suit my taste and the goat leg.

For the seasoning paste:

1 bushy sprig of fresh rosemary (you can substitute 1 tablespoon dried rosemary, but fresh really is preferable)

lemon (organic if possible)

50 gm filets of anchovies packed in olive oil, drained (if you don’t have anchovies, then use a combination of green and/or black olives!)

4 cloves garlic, peeled

2 teaspoons whole mustard seeds

A fresh ground black pepper to taste, or several good turns of the mill

2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

3 teaspoons olive oil

For the meat:

2.2 kg (5 pounds) bone-in Goat Leg

8 small ripe tomatoes, about 650g (1 1/3 pounds)

8 small onions, quartered

4 cloves garlic,

Serves 6 to 8.

Pluck the needles of rosemary and discard the tough central stem (you can leave it to dry and use it as a skewer on a later occasion). Peel the zest of the lemon using a zester or a simple vegetable peeler (save the naked lemon for another use).

Using a mortar and pestle, combine the rosemary, lemon zest, anchovies, peeled garlic, mustard seeds, pepper, vinegar, and oil. Grind until the mixture turns into a coarse paste.

Place the leg of goat in a baking dish large enough to accommodate it, and rub in the seasoning paste, taking care to spread it well, and on all sides. (Clean your hands meticulously before and after the rubbing.) Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least 1 hour, preferably 3 or 4.

Remove the meat from the refrigerator 30 minutes before cooking to bring it back to room temperature. Preheat the oven to 220°C (430°F). Remove the plastic wrap from the baking dish. Add the unpeeled garlic cloves and the tomatoes, cored and halved, slipping them under and around the meat, wherever you can and place the quartered onions all around the goat leg and drizzle with olive oil.

Place the dish in the oven to cook for 30 minutes. Lower the heat to 130°C (270°F) and cook for another 2 1/2 hours, basting and flipping the meat every 30 minutes or so. Cover with a sheet of foil if it seems to brown too quickly.

Let rest on the counter under a sheet of foil for 5 minutes. Carve the meat table-side and serve. (The leftovers are even better the next day.)

Goes well with greek style roasted new potatoes or brown basmatti rice.

18 Comments

Filed under Goats, How to..., Low carb foods, Meat and game cookery, Recipes

18 responses to “Slow roast goat leg

  1. Sounds wonderful…. I do believe I can smell it from here… LOL

  2. Pingback: Roast Leg of Goat | All Things Goat

    • The hunt is not over and yes I’ve had some success… just came home to cook dinner for our national MP. Been too busy to write up my experiences so far; but I assure you they’ve been amazing!

  3. Yummy, I think goat is so much more flavourful, than lamb; which these days (unless you’re lucky enough to get a decent joint of mutton; or mountain or saltmarsh lamb) tends to be disappointingly bland & fatty. I’ll dig out my Kleftiko recipe for you. Whilst in the RAF I spent a fair bit of time in Cyprus; & this is my favourite dish. Whilst originally a lamb recipe (invented by rustlers who needed to hide the meat whilst they were cooking it!) this slow-cooked leg is so tender & succulent, it’ll have you drooling for more. Ro Randall (Goat Guru Dreda’s husband) is a Cambridge Don by day, culinary genius by night; I’ll see if I can extricate his simply superb goat-&-lime pickle curry, it’s utterly, utterly gorgeous. Hope you’re feeling better about the boys’ ultimate fate, now….!

    • I am feeling better about ‘the kids’ fate. The goat is delicious! Truly, so much better than lamb. I’m quite inspired by this first experience. In fact, Nathan commented that he was surprised to see me cook the goat as a roast, “Most people disguise it in a curry” he said as he complimented me on the meal.

      Please do send along any recipes you can wrangle out of your ‘chef extraordinaire’ friends; always interested in trying new and exciting recipes.

      cheers,

      HDR

  4. A1

    Sounds nice I hope to get some goat at the weekend. Glad to see you did not pickle it in alcohol first. Hugh Fearnley Whitingstall points out litle fat meats go even drier with this method. Hugh is the man for Meat see his book called erm Meat.

  5. Kate

    I just cooked your recipe tonight. I think it is possibly the most delicious thing I have ever cooked in my life. My 5 year old daughter couldn’t get enough of it. So tender and tasty! Thank you.

  6. Ajoy Roy, Delhi, India

    I normally put the leg on a wire stand, inside a big covered pot, and cook it in oven for 2-3 hours. Once the leg is soft I brown it on a plate in the oven. For serving, sprincle the leg with “Indian Tandoori or Chat Masala”, and serve with mint chutney.

    My marinade is yogurt, cinamon, garlic, nutmeg and any other spice you like. Marinate it any where 1 to 3 days in the refrigerator. I use a plastic bag so that minimum marinade is required.

  7. hlad

    So the only salt comes from olives or anchovys?

  8. Theresa Sabella

    Recipe turned out beautifully! My husband and daughter bought a leg of goat (from Newcastle Farmers Market, Australia) and I had no idea what to do with it. I’m glad I found your site–thank you!

    • Funny Theresa!! I buy mine from Newcastle Farmers Market too! I just found this recipe & am so excited to try it. My only goat roast recipe before this (one I created myself) was to put it in a roasting bag with at least one punnet of cherry tomatoes, half a bottle of good red wine, heaps of herbs (fresh oregano & rosemary), salt and pepper and a little olive oil. I roast it in the bag for about 3 or 4 hours at 160 deg C. I serve it with roast veggies or mashed potatoes. Either is wonderful…but my family is a little tired of my old recipe.
      I have edited this recipe slightly….I am cooking it in a roasting bag, and I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so I’ve substituted for two tins of whole organic tomatoes…I hope it works. Again, I’m so excited to see what it’s like :-) thank you for sharing

      • Catherine

        I can vouch for your recipe Sarah. It’s delicious AND perfect for a dinner party as it requires no fussing, smells fantastic, and is perfect with a glass or two of red. I may never roast lamb again.

  9. Pingback: Slow-Roasted Leg of Goat with Anchovies, Tomatoes, Lemon, and Rosemary | Good Life Farm

Leave a Reply

