You asked for it: more garden photos.

Early morning on the farm.
Early morning on the farm.

I’ve had some people email and ask for more garden photos, so here goes. As it happens, I did take some nice photos of the garden yesterday. To quote one person, ‘so us city-folk can live vicariously’. How about video? was the next question. For now, that will have to wait.

Mama’s little helpers:

It is now time for the final harvesting and turning the chickens in to help with the clean-up. The plants are established enough that the chickens can’t really hurt them. This is certainly not the case all season: you have to pick your time.

Chickens love to help at weeding time.
Chickens love to help at weeding time.
Not just a pretty face, he's hard at work.
Not just a pretty face, he’s hard at work.

Overachievers anonymous:

The over-achiever red mustard lettuce.
The over-achiever red mustard lettuce.

Feeble attempts of creativity:

Here is my artistic attempt at photo taking which I learned from my friend, Rebecca Wellman, who is a professional photographer.  Check out her site if you want to see real talent:

http://rwellmanphotography.wordpress.com.

As for my attempts, don’t blame her for my lack of talent–I’ve worked hard to call that my own.

Where's my shovel?
Where’s my shovel?

The pre-harvest cabbage.
The pre-harvest cabbage.
Soon to be a salad ingredient...
Soon to be a salad ingredient…
The volunteer.
The volunteer.

That’s all for now!

3 Comments

Filed under Chickens, Sustainable Farming, Vegetable gardening

3 responses to “You asked for it: more garden photos.

  1. Mitch

    I’m Not Sure How You Keep Your Chickens From Eating Your Vegetables. I Let about 3 into my veggie patch and

    WHAT A DISASTER they ate nearly everything down to nothing.

    Haha
    Alwel

    Nice Garden From last year

    From Your Buddy Mitch

    • Hey Mitch,

      I don’t let the chickens in the garden once I’ve planted. They only get to work in there on the non-growing season–they help with garden prep and clean-up! If you want to have help with weeds during the growing season then try ducks. They don’t scratch and kill things but do continuous slug patrol. (Though you might lose the odd lettuce to them).

  2. Mitch

    Hey

    Thats what i Must have done wrong i dont actualy have ducks but i do have geese they may do the trick

    Cheers
    Mitch

Leave a Reply

