The great transformation

When I hired Dave to clear the land I was excited by the prospect of gaining ground, and was looking forward to the job being completed. What I hadn’t counted on was that in order to get the job done he would put me to work for him! The first day he brought along his Honda quad-bike so that Judy (his wife) and I could haul the wood from the clearing. That was the first lesson he gave me–how to drive a quad. The first week of clearing was–in retrospect–hard physical work but easy going in terms of learning curve. All I had to learn was down for reverse and up was in gear, two, three, four. Basically the week was reduced to a limited repertoire: chop wood, haul, stack, repeat.

The land clearing has been a bit of an ad hoc arrangement. Dave fells the trees and Judy and I clean it up, then he asks me where to go next. We discuss the pros and cons of each tree, where the fence-line should go and decide from there. At first, I wanted to keep some of the bigger stumps–an idea that bewildered him to no end. I thought they’d be great for the goats to play on and he simply thought they were eyesores. In the end we came to an agreement about which ones I was to keep and which ones he’d take out. This of course was not before he got a lesson in the subtle differences between what constituted a ‘nice’, a ‘beautiful’ or a ‘gorgeous’ stump. Once he had cleared a bunch of the land, he’d also convinced me that some of the stumps I was emotionally attached to would have to go. However, I was determined to keep my gorgeous stump and for several days it performed the task of housing equipment like our chainsaws, gas, oil, cutters, and the much needed cold drinks and lunch packs (we’ve had week of record high temperatures). The week was spent with my gorgeous stump being the brunt of many a joke. At one point Dave did allow that it was useful as he fetched his chainsaw from its depths.

However, on Friday morning when I walked over to join the work party he had the loader poised in front of it and was beaming at me mischievously, “It’s gotta go honey.” The land around it was cleared and  suddenly I could see my wheat field and I realized he was right. It was taking up far too much ground in the middle of the best dirt on my property. “Get up here” he called and pointed to the driver’s seat in the cab of his machine. I stood there mouth agape, “There’s no better way to learn to drive a loader than to dig up a stump!”

My gorgeous stump!

My gorgeous stump!

Dave drove the machine and got it in position before handing over the controls to me. This machine demanded my attention as it was a lot more to think about than down-reverse, up-two-three-four. This has up, down, side-to-side, sweep, extend, clam, release, and that’s just the boom!

My first lesson.

My first lesson.

It sure looks a lot easier than it is (or he makes it so!). Each hand is in charge of 4 difference motions and several of the directions are anit-instinctual–at least they were for someone who has not had a lifetime of heavy equipment operation. In the end, Dave finished of the job of hauling my gorgeous stump out. The ground was soft and he didn’t want the machine to get stuck. Fair enough, I thought. The amount of ground gained was significant. We agreed that it was about 15 feet in diameter and because of the extensive root system, even more in actual cultivatable surface area. Although I was reluctant to see it go I know it was the right decision to do so.

Yesterday Dave cut down a clump of four large alders and then handed me the keys to the machine. After a brief orientation on the merits (and need for) ‘stabilization’ (three more things your hands must control), he turned me loose on the new stump and walked off to chop down more trees. When I had loosened the stump to his satisfaction, he came back and stood beside the stump and–while performing his best Bobcat impersonation–gave me some final hand signal pointers about how to actually haul it out of it’s place.

My first solo stump pull.

My first solo stump pull.

Surveying my newly gained ground from my 'once removed' gorgeous stump.

Surveying my newly gained ground from my 'once removed' gorgeous stump.

From whence the gorgeous stump came.

From whence the gorgeous stump came.

10 Comments

Filed under Agriforestry

10 responses to “The great transformation

  1. Stunning land! It is gorgeous up there! That picture of the bald rock cliff face is amazing. And good job with pulling that enormous stump. Our full grown trees down in my neck of the woods look like twigs in comparison.

  2. Spotter of Yellow Legs

    And where will you put your heavy equipment shed…I see where this career could career too. I can picture it now, barreling down the highway, squinting, with 2 sides hanging [or in the bucket] and 7 chickens along for the ride.

  3. Wow, matie –

    I am sooo impressed! It’s not just the digger driving – & that is a fantastic achievement (Tony will be extremely jealous; he might fly a huge great passenger jet but he still loves “big boys’ toys”!)….but look at all that land you’ve gained – fantastic. Just right for your wheat field, although I guess that project will be on hold for a few more months yet as the seasons are already whizzing by.

    Guess you’ll be staying a while longer then, heh?
    😉

    BTW our last kids (well, for a couple of months, at least) were born this morning, to ‘legs-crossed’ Tippy – a little boy & a little girl. Mum & babies are doing well & looking exceptionally cute. I was beginning to wonder whether she really was pregnant even though the foetal doppler I keep in my kidding kit, assured me she was.

    Incidentally the little lady-kid has a bit of a ‘wobbly’ back leg (in that it looks almost as if the hip is displaced & is ‘gangly’); if this happens to any of Fatty-Fat’s kids DON’T worry; it should come right in a couple of days. The second/third one out often does have to adjust a bit more as they get a bit scrunched up behind their sibling/s.

    I’ll try to catch up on my woeful lack of Blog posts but as I’m currently still working around 20 hrs/day it might not happen overnight – there have been some real ups & downs lately though, which I should record: to help get my thoughts in order, if nothing else.

    Looking forward to seeing that ‘field of gold’ in due course – & tasting that first loaf of virtual ‘Blogosphere’ bread, mmmmmm!

  4. Wow, another skill gained! The pictures are great and it also shows clearly why you really needed to clear the trees. That was far to good cover for predators to have close to the house.

    Deborah

  5. Tim

    When you start clearing land, the hardest part is getting over taking out the first tree. I to hate to take down trees, but once you get started and things start looking better it gets easier. Great pictures and there is noting like operating heavy equipment, it makes life so much easier.

    • I felt like that too about the trees. At first I was very choosy about which one got cut. Eventually, I realized that where the best farming potential ground was, more trees would have to go!

      It is hard enough work with the heavy equipment; makes me wonder how they did it ‘back in the day’.

  6. EJ

    Nice of him to share! It must be strange to have extended, giant hands to move stuff with.

  7. Now that’s a toy!
    Hope all’s well
    SBW

  8. That looks like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

