Goat due dates

My thoughtful gal Fatty-Fat.

My thoughtful gal Fatty-Fat.

According to my original calculations, the goats are due to kid any day now. Just to be on the safe side, I decided to look up the actual number of days. I had a rough idea that their gestation period was 5 months, which puts them due any time after tomorrow which is five months to the day that I let the ram in with them. During my research into the topic, lo and behold, I found a ‘Goat Gestation Calculator‘ on the web. It is as simple as punching in the date of mating and it spits out the due date. As it happens, I was spot on with my own rough guess.

Of course, it also tells you that the does can kid anywhere between 145 days and 155 days. It also advises on the symptoms of the onset of kidding which for those of us who have only bred things that hatch, is very helpful. I’m hoping to catch them in the act of kidding and get some photos of the process. Apparently, for the first time pregnancies, they are only supposed to have one kid each. I’ll be surprised if that is the case with Fatty-Fat and Shiraz as they presently need ‘wide load’ pilot cars if they get out on the highway. They groan upon rising and can no longer reach those ‘hard to reach’ places to scratch themselves.

Now, I’m on my way out to check their ‘back ends’ for symptoms of the onset of labour!

Shiraz is udderly ready for kidding.

Shiraz is udderly ready for kidding.

Fatty-Fat can no longer scratch those hard to reach spots on her own.

Fatty-Fat can no longer scratch those hard to reach spots on her own.

She's quite happy to have a helping hand with her hard to reach itches.

She's quite happy to have a helping hand with her hard to reach itches.

3 Comments

Filed under Educational, Goats, Learning to Farm

3 responses to “Goat due dates

  1. I love hearing about your goats. Someday we will have a couple again. Some of my earliest memories are of bottle feeding weaned babies as a child. I remember them being such friendly , rambunctious, curious animals. I also clearly remember being kicked in the forehead by one that did not want to be castrated…that hurt.

    • You’d love my goats then. Not a kicker among the group and they are all pretty goofy yet snuggly creatures. The two pregnant gals and Malcolm are the ones who really like scratches and snuggles, I even have a set of grooming brushes for them which they are all too willing to stand (and even jockey for my attention) for. Gordon is a total flirt with anyone who comes to the farm and everyone is usually smitten with him.

  2. Mitch

    hey

    Hows everything going?
    My sheep are due in august and they are looking huge at the moment
    Hope all the birthing goes well with your goats so please post when the newbies arrive
    I have just recently came home from japan and south korea and met up with some people from bella coola too they seem very nice and they were very funny too
    Guess all that needs for me is so i can organize a next trip to Canada

    Anyway good luck and hope all goes well
    I’m setting up the new incubator i just bought at the moment its running like a dream

    Cya
    Mitch

Leave a Reply

