When you sin bad-ly…

My little goats are growing fast and in need of naming. Thanks to all who made suggestions for the kids, both Fatty-fats and Shiraz’s. The response from my hubby when I relayed the names you folks have proffered to him was, “What creative blogging friends you have!”

In light of the fact they are going to be eaten, we have decided on the following names for the boys:

Saddam (cuz we all know why he should be eaten);

Sadam does kind of get a look every now and then...

Saddam does get a dissembling look in his eye every now and then...

Salam-i (which speaks for itself);

Salam (i) is the climber of the group.

Salam (i) is the climber of the group.

and Sinbad (cuz if you sin bad enough you deserve to be roasted on the spit!). But does he look like a sinner?

Already finding excuses why I need to keep Sinbad! He's such a sweetie.

Already finding excuses why I need to keep Sinbad! He's such a sweetie.

Well, there it is. Wish me luck over the next few months that I’ll actually muster up the courage to do this. I’m already smitten with all these babes. Working with them and thinking of them as my food is a difficult paradox to reconcile. This is the part of being such a small farm that is difficult: I kn0w each animal, and am working with each one, e.g. imprinting, haltering, human therapy, breeding. I want to do so much with so many of these animals; I’d like to be able to teach these fellows to pull a cart, for example. I know that taking the time and bonding with them so deeply will have its cost in the end. Unless, of course, I can justify keeping the cart goats to get to the store now that gas prices are on the rise… maybe¬† I could start picking people up from the airport in the W-e-e-e-e-e-l-co-o-me wagon.

6 Comments

Filed under Goats, Just for fun

6 responses to “When you sin bad-ly…

  1. They’re cuties, no doubting that but it’s a slippery slope! I’ve gave in with one of last year’s piglets and she’s staying put, but she cheated and took to falling asleep with her head in my lap. It’s ok though, I’m able to justify it as she’ll be replacing my barren sow who will be off this summer/autumn (probably autumn, knowing me!).

  2. Optional Meaning – I never liked that comedian from the 80s Sinbad very much. Good looking kids! Hot hot hot today here while I haul chunks of concrete!

  3. I cheat. My husband does the dirty deed of killing the livestock we’ve raised for meat, all but the chickens. Then when he’s done, I come over and help process them for the freezer. It isn’t an easy part of living self-sufficiently but it becomes a LITTLE easier as time goes on. Hang tough, the higher quality of meat you will be eating makes a big difference on your health.
    http://easylivingthehardway.blogspot.com

  4. Robin

    Did you castrate them? I find I have an easier time doing the deed when they begin to act like pushy bucks and not like cute kids anymore.

    • I’ve not castrated them yet. I’ve ordered the Ritchey Nippers so I can do it between 2-3 months old. I’m told this way they put on more weight which adds to their carcass weight.

Leave a Reply

