Tasting Sundown

Two beautiful sides of goat for the eating.

Two beautiful sides of goat for the eating.

As many of you will know, I butchered my first goat last weekend. Her name was Sundown. When my friend Clarence and I were butchering her he asked me how I chose her to do in. I told him my reasoning: she was the only doe not to get pregnant last year, she is the bottom of the heap in the other goats’ eyes, and the most stand-offish goat in the paddock with me. So, I rationalized, even if she were to get pregnant next time, I didn’t want her teaching her kids to be stand-offish with me. Summing up, it was obvious that she had to go.

I took her to the local butcher for hanging. She hung for 5 days and then the butcher cut, packed, and wrapped her for me–all 40 lbs of her. Clarence was keen to help me do that piece as well, but the weather has turned and I just wanted the job done. I am more interested at learning how to cook her.

I have just made my first goat curry and enjoyed every bite.

Curried Sundown

1 lb goat meat cut into stewing pieces

1 onion, chopped

3-4 tbsp oil (I use olive, but for more traditional curry you should use canola or vegetable)

2-3 cloves garlic, chopped

2 in piece fresh ginger, grated

1 package A Taste of India Hyderabadi Biriyani mix

1/2 can coconut milk

vegetables such as zucchini, peas, green peppers (or a mixture of them)

salt to taste

3-5 tbsp cilantro, al gusto

Fry onions in oil until translucent and tender. Add goat meat and cook until all pink is gone. Add ginger, garlic, and Hyderabadi biriyani paste along with a cup or two of water. Then add 1/2 can coconut milk and simmer for several hours until goat meat is tender. Add the vegetables. When the veggies are tender, add the cilantro. Adjust salt to taste and serve with steamed rice and naan.

7 Comments

Filed under Butchering, Recipes, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Tasting Sundown

  1. Mmm, sounds delicious!

    Had you tried goat curry before, or was this your first taste?

  2. Your first taste of goat ever! What did you think? I’ll link your post with recipe to the AllThingsGoat.com recipe section later today.

  3. I need to find someone round here who has got some goat meat for sale. Honestly, you can now buy goat’s milk, cheese and yoghurts… why no meat?!

  4. Tony

    “So, I rationalized, even if she were to get pregnant next time, I didn’t want her teaching her kids to be stand-offish with me. Summing up, it was obvious that she had to go.”

    Your starting to sound like a farmer!

    Enjoyable…comprehensive blog.

    Regards
    Retired Farmer

  5. I am so interested in making a Goat Meat Restaurant. this helped in my research about the recipes. Thanx a lot

Leave a Reply

