The eagle has hopefully landed

I’m checking out Smithers, BC as a potential new home for Howling Duck Ranch. So far it looks promising (despite the fact they tell me it could take weeks, even months to get a phone and internet connection!) I’ve already found a potential home for the goats and a possible job for the goats as well! Nothing yet for me but maybe the goats can support me. More later when I’m actually set up and online officially (just borrowing a connection for the moment). Please be patient with this move (God knows I’m having to learn how to be/do that!)

cheers,

Kristeva

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The eagle has hopefully landed

  1. Monica

    How exciting! I only drove through Smithers one time, so I don’t really know much about it, but it was very lovely country. It’s a big decision for a farmer to pull up stakes and move.

    Man, life without the internet… that would be hard for me. I’d love to see the pictures though, once it all gets sorted out!

  2. I had no idea you were moving!?

  3. LittleFfarm Dairy

    Blimey – does it have any land, will you be able to keep the menagerie with you? Hopefully it’s somewhere where bears & big cats are less of a problem, too!

    I bet you’ll miss the wonderful Clarence though; however needs must I suppose. I wish you the very best of luck, dear friend.

    BTW how did the milking go in the end….? I’m back blogging after getting snowed under with so much work I didn’t have the time or energy to get anything written. Still have precious little time, though!

    Happy New Year, sounds like 2010 is going to be a real adventure for you….

  4. EJ

    Northern BC’s local food directory http://localfoodbc.ca/

    Not mine, just passing on.

  5. Good luck with the move! I hope all goes well!

  6. Mitch

    I Hope you find sucess at your new home make sure you Send me your new adress so we can still keep in touch Have a Wonderful Winter And enjoy your new home

    Mitch

  7. Greg Askey

    bummer, You guys worked so hard to build what you had. I hope you find greener grass on the other side of the fence. All I found was pavement and too many people. All the best Kristy

  8. Jaclyn

    How exciting! I live a couple hours away in Terrace, and was born in Smithers, and can say without a doubt you will enjoy the people in our neck of the woods. Its beautiful around here and great farmland in Smithers. Im about the only “farmer” kinda person in Terrace though. You will love it here should you move this way :)

    Jaclyn.

  9. Good luck, I hope it all goes smoothly and works out for you x

  10. Gordon Tingley

    Good luck in your hunt for your new farm. We took the plunge and left Vancouver last fall for southwest Nova Scotia. After almost a year, our lavender farm is coming to life. There’s a new orchard in the works on the upper field and our first attempt at honeybees paid us 17 quarts of golden nectar this season. Now if only the chickens would start laying!

Leave a Reply

